High End Systems Discussion Forums  

Go Back   High End Systems Discussion Forums > Axon Media Server > Requests and Enhancements

Requests and Enhancements Requests and Enhancements Discussion for the Axon Media Server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 29th, 2012   #1
sompompir
sompompir
Newly Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default Cropping animations

Is there an option to crop the animations?

If there isnt, I suggest u consider adding it in some new patch cus it would bring alot of new useful options.

Thanx
sompompir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012   #2
schiefels
Matt Schiefelbein
Digital Lighting Test Engineer
 
schiefels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 399
Default

Could you explain more of what you mean by cropping animations?

By animations, do you mean movie clips?

As far as cropping, do you mean covering up part of the image, or cropping the playback so a shorter portion of the movie is seen?

Thanks,
__________________
Matt Schiefelbein
High End Systems Alum
schiefels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012   #3
sompompir
sompompir
Newly Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I meant cropping layers, like we crop photos in photo editting applications.

Its pretty much similar to using scissors to make desired shape out of a piece of paper, but the piece of paper is a layer in this case.
sompompir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012   #4
sompompir
sompompir
Newly Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Do you need any further explanation?
sompompir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012   #5
Marty Postma
Marty Postma
Emeritus Member
 
Marty Postma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,823
Default

There are many ways to accomplish this.

- Change XYZ Position of the layer to desired area.
- Change XYZ Scale of the layer to desired area.
- Change XYZ Viewpoint to show only desired area.
- Apply a Global Mask and adjust the size.
- Adjust the Edge Fade Shutters or, Framing Shutters Globally.
- Apply an effect (either Globally or on the Layer) such as Pan+Scan (if the source image is larger than the native raster you are working with) or Edge Frame.
- Create a custom 3D object to apply your video texture to.

What you want as your final outcome will determine what the best method is for any given situation.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Best Regards,
- Marty
Marty Postma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2012   #6
sompompir
sompompir
Newly Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Changing image clip parameters on global layer seems to do what I want except for 1 little thing: Black surfaces are not transparent, which is quite logical since global layer applies to all layers.

What I suggested is making similar option on graphic layers.

Is that possible?
sompompir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2012   #7
Marty Postma
Marty Postma
Emeritus Member
 
Marty Postma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,823
Default

Try using XYZ Scale + Position to change the geometery + location of the 3D object your clip is applied to.
You may want to choose another 3D object from the library or create your own.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Best Regards,
- Marty
Marty Postma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2012   #8
schiefels
Matt Schiefelbein
Digital Lighting Test Engineer
 
schiefels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 399
Default

The problem with adding imaging clipping on every layer is the number of channels that would require. Each layer would require an addition 8 channels of control for the image clipping, and with all nine layers it would be a total of 72 channels. The DL.3 is already at 481 channels, so adding 72 more would put it well over the 512 channel limit.

As Marty said, using scaling, positioning, or custom objects may help you achieve the look you are going for. Also, creating a custom JPEG to use as a mask is an option. Create a JPEG that is black and white, with black being the part of the image you want to crop (or the other way around, both will work), then layer that JPEG on top of a video and use the Chroma Key effect to make part of the mask transparent.
__________________
Matt Schiefelbein
High End Systems Alum
schiefels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.