Cropping animations

sompompirsompompir Registered User
Is there an option to crop the animations?

If there isnt, I suggest u consider adding it in some new patch cus it would bring alot of new useful options.

Thanx

Comments

  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited February 2012
    Could you explain more of what you mean by cropping animations?

    By animations, do you mean movie clips?

    As far as cropping, do you mean covering up part of the image, or cropping the playback so a shorter portion of the movie is seen?

    Thanks,
  • sompompirsompompir Registered User
    edited February 2012
    I meant cropping layers, like we crop photos in photo editting applications.

    Its pretty much similar to using scissors to make desired shape out of a piece of paper, but the piece of paper is a layer in this case.
  • sompompirsompompir Registered User
    edited March 2012
    Do you need any further explanation? :confused:
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2012
    There are many ways to accomplish this.

    - Change XYZ Position of the layer to desired area.
    - Change XYZ Scale of the layer to desired area.
    - Change XYZ Viewpoint to show only desired area.
    - Apply a Global Mask and adjust the size.
    - Adjust the Edge Fade Shutters or, Framing Shutters Globally.
    - Apply an effect (either Globally or on the Layer) such as Pan+Scan (if the source image is larger than the native raster you are working with) or Edge Frame.
    - Create a custom 3D object to apply your video texture to.

    What you want as your final outcome will determine what the best method is for any given situation.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • sompompirsompompir Registered User
    edited March 2012
    Changing image clip parameters on global layer seems to do what I want except for 1 little thing: Black surfaces are not transparent, which is quite logical since global layer applies to all layers.

    What I suggested is making similar option on graphic layers.

    Is that possible?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2012
    Try using XYZ Scale + Position to change the geometery + location of the 3D object your clip is applied to.
    You may want to choose another 3D object from the library or create your own.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited March 2012
    The problem with adding imaging clipping on every layer is the number of channels that would require. Each layer would require an addition 8 channels of control for the image clipping, and with all nine layers it would be a total of 72 channels. The DL.3 is already at 481 channels, so adding 72 more would put it well over the 512 channel limit.

    As Marty said, using scaling, positioning, or custom objects may help you achieve the look you are going for. Also, creating a custom JPEG to use as a mask is an option. Create a JPEG that is black and white, with black being the part of the image you want to crop (or the other way around, both will work), then layer that JPEG on top of a video and use the Chroma Key effect to make part of the mask transparent.
Sign In or Register to comment.